Join now!   |   Subscribe   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Unclaimed Property Focus
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (392) posts »

UPPO Announces Annual Members’ Choice Award Winners

Posted By Administration, Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Updated: Tuesday, June 23, 2020

With its annual Members’ Choice Awards, UPPO recognizes specific state administrators and unclaimed property programs for their excellence. UPPO members nominate candidates and choose the winners from the subsequent slate of nominees. Congratulations to this year’s recipients:


Unclaimed Property State Representative of the Year

The Unclaimed Property State Representative of the Year Members’ Choice Award recognizes a state administrator or staff person who has gone above and beyond to assist the holder community.


UPPO members chose Tom Egler and Debra Cancel from Florida to receive this honor. Tom is exemplary in his willingness to assist holders with reporting dilemmas, including online upload and portal access. Debra is quick to provide missing holder numbers and answer reporting question. This reporting and compliance duo are truly “best in class” and balance the state and owner interests with encouraging appropriate holder compliance.


Unclaimed Property State of the Year

The Unclaimed Property State of the Year Members’ Choice Award honors a state that has a holder-friendly approach across the entire program and staff, including a user-friendly website and accessibility to pertinent compliance information, as well as a commitment to engaging the holder community.


UPPO members chose Pennsylvania as this year’s winner. Pennsylvania and its representative, Barbara Benkovic, are helpful, reasonable and responsive. Pennsylvania has earned a reputation for genuinely caring about building solid holder relationships.


Advocacy Partner of the Year

The Advocacy Partner of the Year Members’ Choice Award recognizes the industry stakeholder group that has achieved significant positive change for the unclaimed property community or has advocated vigorously for change in a particular area of unclaimed property compliance and enforcement.


UPPO members chose American Bankers Association for the assistance it provided to the Holders’ Coalition and UPPO’s Government Relations and Advocacy Committee in providing legislative information and local contacts with “feet on the ground,” which facilitated education of legislators and others on issues of importance to holders.


Legislation of the Year

The Legislation of the Year Members’ Choice Award is given to the governor and treasurer (or the highest appointed or elected official responsible for overseeing unclaimed property) of the state having the best piece of legislation that advances not only significant change in unclaimed property compliance but also one or all of the follow guiding principles:

  • Increases clarity.
  • Establishes or recommits to fairness for all stakeholders.
  • Establishes rules consistent and uniform of other states.


UPPO members chose Tennessee for pending legislation, S.B. 1634, which awaits approval by the governor. If enacted, this bill would increase the holding period for securities remitted to the state and prevent remitted securities liquidation for an extended period of time.


Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you for your work with the unclaimed property community.

Tags:  awards  unclaimed property 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal